Westminster Jazz

I was delighted to attend the 2015 Parliamentary Jazz Awards last night on the Terrace at the House of Commons. The Awards, organised by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG), are considered Britain’s premier ceremony for the UK jazz community. Compered by Moira Stuart and featuring a broad array of jazz talent from within the industry, the awards are sponsored by PPL and my thanks to them for the invitation. The winners included Jazz Vocalist of the Year – Norma Winstone MBE; Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year – trumpeter Laura Jurd; Jazz Album of the Year – ‘Swamp’ by Partisans; Jazz Ensemble of the Year – Engines Orchestra; Jazz Newcomer of the Year – Peter Edwards, pianist, composer and bandleader; Jazz Venue of the Year – St Ives Jazz Club; Jazz Media Award – London Jazz News; Jazz Education Award – National Youth Jazz Orchestra; Services to Jazz Award – Chris Hodgkins; Special APPJAG Award – Peter Ind.  The evening ended with a live performance by James Pearson and The Ronnie Scott’s All Stars.


Written by:

928 Posts

Songwriter and music industry consultant.
View All Posts
Follow Me :