I am currently working on the release of a new album of self-penned material, entitled Waterloo Sunrise, for release on vinyl and online in 2023. The tracks include songs written as long ago as the early 1980s, through to newer songs created during and after lockdown.

Falling off the edge of the world
Head above water
Quids in
She reminds me of you
The girl I never had
Love on a summer’s day
Farewell to your valentine
Promises at midnight
Nashville, Tennessee
Girl on the train
Caring soul
In the comfort of strangers
Waterloo sunrise (theme)

Featured on the album are:

Keith Ames
Lead vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, bass guitar (Trust)

Greg Fitzgerald
Production, engineering, vocals, string arrangements, keyboards,
programming, bass, percussion, piano arrangement (Caring soul)


Pete Whitfield, violin and string arrangement: The girl I never had, Waterloo sunrise (theme)

Emily Bellussi-Fitzgerald, vocals
Ralph Salmins, drums
Adam Goldsmith, guitar
John Thirkell, trumpet and flugel horn
Chris Haigh, violin
Geoff Gascoyne, bass
Abdelkader Saadoun, mandola and darbuka
Andy Pask, bass
Snake Davis, saxophone
Andy Findon, flute
James Reynolds, harmonica
Ashley Blasse, guitar
Simon Turner, cello
Chip Peacock, sound effects

Mastered by Mike Thorne at Rimshot Studios

Photography: Jonathan Stewart

Album artwork: Steve Ames at Printstore

For the stories behind the material, please visit Album Notes 1 and Album Notes 2.

In the meantime, as an example of my catalogue, my debut 1998 album ‘Birdcage‘ featuring the following self-penned originals can be heard on Soundcloud.

Nicoll Road  3m 23s
Shame  3m 8s
You hurt no-one but yourself  4m 48s
All over you  4m 12s
Radio play  3m 8s
The golden age of this romance  3m 35s
Keeping a dream alive  3m 38s
Blind drunk and stupid Cupid  2m 28s
Colleen  4m 9s
Love is all I have to give  3m 38s
Cross of gold 3m 52s
The day she said I will  3m 41s

All songs written by Keith Ames

Produced and engineered by Greg Fitzgerald at Church Road Studios, Ealing.


Keith Ames: lead and harmony vocals, guitars
Greg Fitzgerald: harmony vocals, keyboards, percussion, string arrangements
James Reynolds: harmonica (Nicoll Road / All over you)
Tina Barron: violin (You hurt no-one but yourself / The golden age of this romance)
Marianne de Chastelaine: cello (You hurt no-one but yourself)
Matt Schwartz: bass (Blind drunk and stupid Cupid)
Lorraine Haley: vocals (Shame)
Mae McKenna: vocals (Colleen)
Ken Ames: dobro (Cross of gold)
Chip Peacock: drums

Mastered by RPM

Album photography by Jonathan Stewart