Jazz in the House

My thanks to sponsors PPL, Chris Hodgkins and the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) for my invitation to last night’s excellent Awards ceremony on the Terrace at the Houses of Parliament.  It was great to catch up with so many names in the jazz world, including Lianne Carroll, Ray Gelato, Juliet Kelly, Alex Webb, Gary Crosby and Frank Griffiths, plus the members of the MP4 band including former Runrig keyboard player Pete Wishart MP and Kevin Brennan MP.

During the ceremony, the award presenters comprised of a host of British politicians and home-grown UK talent including clarinettest and composer Arun Ghosh, PPL Chair John Smith, vocalists Claire Martin and Jacqui Dankworth, plus Baroness Coussins MP. Compére for the evening was Jazzwise editor and publisher, Jon Newey: ‘This has been a really strong year for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards in terms of talent and nominations. The well deserved winners are a veritable who’s who of names that have made a real impact on the music and helped make the UK one of the world’s leading jazz territories.’

The full list of winners is as follows:

Vocalist of the Year: Emilia Mårtensson
Instrumentalist of the Year: Alexander Hawkins
Album of the Year: ‘Let It Be Told’ Julian Argüelles
Ensemble of the Year: Empirical
Newcomer of the Year: Binker and Moses
Venue of the Year: Seven Jazz
Media Award: Jez Nelson/BBC Jazz on 3
Education Award: Professor Dr Tommy Smith
Services to Jazz Award: Mary Greig
Special APPJAG Award: Evan Parker
Special APPJAG Award: Michael Connarty


Written by:

928 Posts

Songwriter and music industry consultant.
View All Posts
Follow Me :