Parliamentary Jazz

A landmark evening at the Parliamentary Jazz Awards on the Terrace at the House of Commons, an event sponsored by PPL and Jazz Services and hosted by the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group. MCs for the night were Group Co-chairs Michael Connarty MP and Lord Colwyn, whilst performing were special guests, James Pearson and the Ronnie Scott’s All Stars.

The winners are:
Jazz Vocalist of the Year: Christine Tobin
Jazz Instrumentalist of the Year: Arun Ghosh
Jazz Album of the Year: Troykestra ‘Live At Cheltenham 13 Jazz Festival’
Jazz Ensemble of the Year: Beats & Pieces Big Band
Jazz Newcomer of the Year: Phil Meadows
Jazz Venue of the Year: EFG London Jazz Festival
Jazz Media Award: Jamie Cullum
Jazz Education Award: Issie Barratt, National Youth Jazz Collective
Services to Jazz Award: David Redfern
Special APPJAG Award: Chris Barber

I sit on the panel which selects a shortlist, from all the nominees entered by the public, from which the MPs and Peers of the Group choose the award winners.


Written by:

928 Posts

Songwriter and music industry consultant.
View All Posts
Follow Me :